RSS

I have arrived

04 Sep

I finally made it and I will start posting on a regular basis.  Traveling halfway around the world turned out to be easier than I expected (it helped that no one sat next to me so, I had three to myself).  I flew Singapore Airlines (highly recommend), first off, the Singapore girls lived up to all expectations, extremely helpful and quite attractive as well. haha.  The inflight movies were great and other than fatigue from sitting for so long and getting dehydrated, I had no complaints.  It took 28 hours due to the peculiar rout, Houston to Moscow to Singapore to Jakarta but the short layover in Moscow has inspired me to one day travel there(I liked the colorful roofs I saw while landing).  Finally, I arrived in Jakarta on September 1.

After landing, I got a taxi to my hotel, an experience in itself due to their driving style and they drive on the opposite side of the road.  Once I got to my hotel I slept, wasn’t planning on it because I was meeting a colleague that evening but I laid down and slept through her phone call to the next morning.  oops.  Luckily she was very understanding and we had a lovely lunch the next day.  The next couple of days I have been catching up on sleep and doing some exploring around the my hotel.  I can only walk around for a couple of hours because the poverty in the city is much more emotionally draining than I expected (will go into more detail in a later post).

I start at the Eijkman Institute tomorrow and will finally begin my internship.  Will comment tomorrow on how it goes.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I have arrived

  1. Sarcozona (@sarcozona)

    September 4, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    I nearly slept thru a meeting at ESA due to travel exhaustion. A luckily timed phone call saved me!

     

Leave a Reply

 
